Outgrown Your Mini? Don’t Be So Sure!

Okay, first off I was NOT one of those girls who took homec classes in school.  In fact, there was a time I’d push a top with a missing button to thet back of the closet rather than sew it back on.  HOWEVER, life changes us and change can be fun!

So, what to do when the kids (or um . . . we) outgrow certain favorite  bits of clothing?  Find another way to “wear” it.  In this case I found this denim mini on a 1.00 rack at the thrift shop.  The leather handles?  They came from a completely wron out pocketbook I came across.  Nothing wrong with those handles and try to buy some that nice at a sewing shop.  Cheap plastic ones are usually 10.00.  I had a small about of some pink lace and for fun put it through the belt loops, but in another less frilly “skirt” book bag, I used an old belt I never liked.

As to the skirt – book bag?  I sewed a double seam across thed base of the skirt where the ruffle is stitched on and tacked a simple pony tail elastic to the center back of the “skirt” so that I could help my books stay inside the tote.  It slips easily around the button at the front waist of the skirt.  It may have taken a total of 10 minutes to assemble.  Is this cute or what?

Think about the clothes the kids outgrow and are heartbroken over.  It might help to look at them from a different angle. Seriously, Look at it upside down or backwards.  It’ll help the creative juices to flow.  I bet you can find a way to turn the fav outgrown item into something fun, fashionable, artful . . .  try it!

(you can practice on those .50 cent things at yardsales!!!)

Have you seen my other WordPress Blogs?

http://inlovewiththelord.wordpress.com/

http://mysouldances.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Outgrown Your Mini? Don’t Be So Sure!

Leave a comment