It’s a Clock? It’s a Painting? It’s a Gift? All Three!

 

Wow, I am so sorry I’ve been away from this blog but life is hectic.  Can you relate?  I bet you can.  Seems as well that holidays are fast approaching and much as I hate to admit it, my focus on the Holy part does get distracted a wee bit even now by the “gift” concern.  I am in a life change season and so money is tight.

I truly do get annoyed by the HUGE push for our DOLLARS and all the “Christmas is here” ads I’m already seeing, as you may know if you saw this post on my “In Love With The Lord” blog, However, since giving of ourselves is part of our lives all the time, I thought I’d share some ways we can make the giving of gifts more personal.  It is also my goal to make it cost-effective.

What you see here is a clock I “made.”  No, I am not a clock maker, although a delightful priest of mine is both an amazing preacher and pastor and a clock maker.  Puts a whole new spin on “God’s Timing” don’t you think?  Fr Chris is special for lots of reasons.  He doesn’t have much free time on his hands . . . okay, back to the “how to” part of this post.

Thrift shops provide lots of ways to repurpose and save money when it comes to our own needs and creating “original” or “almost homemade” things.  What you see in the photo (sorry, I am not a professional photographer) is an inexpensive clock I bought for 1.00 at the huge thrift store in town.  I was able to pop the front off it and then unscrew the hands of the clock.  I then made a print of a painting I did of a cardinal.  I had scanned it before framing the original.  I trimmed the print to the size needed to fit the clock face, made a hole in the center so I could fix the hands back onto it, and since I decided not to add numbers, all that was left was to snap the front back on and I had an original clock.

NUMBERS.  If you are looking to make life more clear, you can pick up all styles and sizes of numbers for clock making at a craft shop or hardware store. You can also paint or drawn on numbers with felt tip pens or liner brush and craft paint.

PICTURES – your child’s drawings can be copied/scanned and turned into an original clock face, any favorite photo can be used as well.  Think of the smiles on the faces of loved ones . . .  you can also add a touch of style to a room by making accessories from remnant fabrics from the local fabric or quilt shop.  They often sell small remainders of a bolt really steeply discounted.  How about a clock from a pretty floral print?  A simple sewing project would be to make a pillow from the same fabric and add these to a bedroom or sitting room.

So, check out the clocks at your local thrift shop and who knows what you will come up with!  One of a kind art made by YOU!

 

WHAT ELSE AM I UP TO?  MY OTHER BLOGS HERE AT WORDPRESS:

http://mysouldances.wordpress.com/

http://inlovewiththelord.wordpress.com/

One thought on “It’s a Clock? It’s a Painting? It’s a Gift? All Three!

Leave a comment